Car Crashes Involving Uninsured Or Unlicensed Motorists
In New Mexico, the Mandatory Responsibility Act mandates that all drivers in the state be financially responsible for their vehicle. Drivers are required to have a minimum liability coverage limit of $25,000 for bodily injury, $50,000 per collision, and $10,000 for property damage.
Driving Without Mandated Insurance Coverage
If you operate a motor vehicle without insurance, then you could be charged with a misdemeanor, face up to 90 days in jail, or even both for a first offense. However, if you are involved in a crash without auto insurance coverage, these penalties can be significantly worse. Law enforcement is required to remove your license plate and issue a temporary plate for 30 days if you are involved in a crash without insurance, in addition to a citation. Once you provide proof of insurance, your license plate will be returned.
The MFRA is enforced by an online monitoring system that tracks the insurance record of New Mexican drivers. Your vehicle will be denied registration if you are not included in the system. The Motor Vehicle Division will contact insurance providers to verify information cataloged in the system, and registered vehicles are verified using their individual VIN number. The MVD must send you a notice of non-compliance if it is found that you’re uninsured. For instance, in the event that your insurance policy is canceled due to non-payment, your insurance provider will contact the Department of Motor Vehicles. Your vehicle registration will be denied if proof of coverage is not provided.
Driving Without a Valid License
It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle without a valid license in New Mexico. If you do not have a valid license while traveling on state roadways, you may be charged with a misdemeanor, face fines, and even jail time. If you are able to provide a license at trial, you cannot be convicted of operating a vehicle without a license.
When you drive with a suspended or revoked license, potential fines and jail time are increased dramatically. It is a misdemeanor carrying up to a $1,000 fine and 364 days in jail. The law was recently updated on October 1st, 2019, updating the maximum fine for driving with a suspended license. The updated punishment is limited to 90 days of jail time or a $300 fine. The same punishment is extended to those who drive with a revoked license, but your license will likely be revoked for another year. Your vehicle may even be immobilized for a period of 30 days.
Auto Accidents Albuquerque
Being involved in a car crash is a traumatic event. A serious collision can take place at any time you are traveling on the road. Sadly, thousands are injured in the state each year in car crashes.
There are nearly 42,000 reported crashes each year in New Mexico. More than 9,000 people sustain injuries in these crashes. If you have been injured in a collision, you should contact a New Mexico car crash attorney immediately.
Will Ferguson & Associates can help you recover your deserved compensation after being injured by another driver. We have helped numerous victims obtain settlements worthy of their injuries. Contact our offices at (505) 243-5566 to see how we can help.
Tags: car crash injury attorney lawyer in Albuquerque NM, Car Crashes Involving Uninsured Or Unlicensed Motorists, settlement lawsuit compensation wrongful death in New Mexico, vehicle collision auto accident in ABQ New Mexico